Kansas City Golf Association Logo
Infinity of Kansas City

Decisions, Decisions, Decisions

Categories: Rules, Spotlight | Posted: February 14, 2012 | No Comments »

Yes the Rules of Golf can be fun. The Referee likes to spend evenings perusing through Decisions on the Rules of Golf for the strange, interesting and sometimes funny facts. Here is the latest I like to refer to as: I Didn’t Do Nuthin’….

Decision 18-2b/1: Ball Moves After Stance Taken But Before Address

Q. Outside a hazard, the player took his stance but did not ground his club. The ball moved. What is the ruling?

A. As the player had not addressed the ball, he did not incur a penalty under Rule 18-2b (see Definition of “Addressing the Ball”). If, however, the player caused the ball to move, he was subject to penalty and the ball should have been replaced (Rule 18-2a).

The USGA, in conjunction with The R&A in St. Andrews, Scotland, writes, interprets and maintains the Rules of Golf to guard the tradition and integrity of the game. The two organizations are joint authors and owners of The Rules of Golf and Decisions on the Rules of Golf. Through an agreement with The R&A, the Rules jurisdiction of the USGA includes only the United States, its possessions and Mexico.

To learn more about The Rules of Golf check out the Rules and Decision section of the USGA’s website.

Leave a Reply