Groom, Ida, Tyrell Capture Amateur Player of the Year Honors

The end of the 2016 season brings the crowning of the new Players of the Year.

This year’s Senior Amateur Player of the Year goes to Steve Groom, who claimed the honor in a landslide of points.

Groom captured the title by nearly 1000 points.

His list of accomplishments in 2016 includes the StateLine Amateur Tour Senior Player of the Year and the StateLine Tour Championship Senior title. Groom added a Kansas City Senior Four-ball title, alongside his partner Mark Addington, and recently claimed the KC Master’s Senior title.

In addition, Groom added three StateLine Tour stop victories or ties for first.

Joe Ida earned the Amateur Player of the Year after winning the Kansas City Masters, successfully qualifying for the U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship and earning the Low Amateur title at the Watson Challenge, finishing in third place.

Finally, Jean Tyrell took home the Women’s Amateur Player of the Year.

Tyrell posted a T4 at the Prairie Invitational and a T7 at the U.S. Women’s Amateur Sectional qualifying tournament at Lawrence CC.