Stateline Amateur at Sycamore Ridge

Sycamore Ridge hosted 85 of the StateLine Tour members on Tuesday for the 4th event of the 2018 season.  The slight break in the heat made for a perfect morning and the scores reflected it.

In the Open Division, Sam Parrott stood on the 5th tee at 3 over par and decided to turn things around a bit.  He made five birdies over the next 11 holes to come home at 2 under par 70.  Parrott claimed a one-shot victory over Matt Kelley and Chris Beaubien.  Beaubien has a slim 2-point lead over Kelley for SLAT Open Player of the Year.

In the Senior Division, Don Kuehn’s steady 2 birdie – 2 bogey even par round of 72 was 3 shots clear of runners up Mark Addington and John Samples who each returned a 3 over par 75.  Addington’s tie for 2nd was enough to put him on top of the SLAT Senior Player of the Year list.

Mike “The Comish” Buckhouse took medalist honors in the Player’s division with a stellar 1 under par 71.  Michael Jorgensen finished 1 back at even par 72, narrowly missing a birdie putt on the 18th that would have tied him for the title.  Andrew Makowske, Mittal Patel and Steve Hammond tied for third at 3 over par 75.  Buckhouse’s first win of the year puts him 6 points ahead of Hammond on the Player’s division Player of the Year list.

Legend Division Co-Champions David Hamilton and Bob Bezek separated themselves from the field by 6 strokes with a round of 2 under par 70.  Bezek turned at 4 under but struggled on the back a little as he got it to the house at 2 under.  Hamilton carded 4 birdies on the day, including 3 on the back nine 33 he posted.  Fran Ferns and Keith Forrest tied at third with a 76, 4 over par.  Bezek’s 2nd SLAT victory of 2018 pulls him within 5 points of Legend’s Player of the Year leader Pete Robbins.

On the Net side in the players division, Jorgensen’s 5 under par score claimed the title.  While in the Legend’s Division, John Pawsat claimed a 2nd net title in as many tries, with an amazing 9 under par 63.  Dennis McCormack currently has a comfortable 15-point lead of Trenton Mein for Player’s Division Net Player of the year.  Pawsat’s 2nd victory has him 1 point ahead of Keith Forrest for Legend’s Net Player of the year.

The Second Women’s One Day Fourball event was also contested Tuesday at Sycamore Ridge, with Cathy Shenoy and Jennifer Stammeyer edging out Debbie Henderson and Shelly Amundson.  Both teams played well, but when the dust settled Shenoy and Stammemyer were at 8 under and Henderson and Amundson were 7 under.   This new event was introduced by the KCGA in 2018 and will feature 5 one day competitions for women.  The 2-woman partner format will have a gross and a net winner.  The 3 remaining events will be played at the Country Club of Leawood on July 9th, Canyon Farms August 27 and Ironhorse Golf Club on September 19th.

The Stateline Tour has 6 regular season events remaining, with the Tour Championship to be held at Staley Farms Golf Club on October 11th.  The Country Club of Leawood will host the next StateLine event on July 9th.



By Todd Stice, Director of Rules and Competitions