Stateline Amateur Season Comes to a Close at Staley Farms

A great 2018 season for the Stateline Amateur Tour came to a close at Staley Farms on October 11 for our SLAT Championship. Over 70 players came out for a chance to win their division Tour Championship as well as fight for Player of the Year.

In our Open division, Jon Dold won the tour championship with an incredible four-under, 68 in a round that featured only two bogeys and six birdies. Greg Diederich shot a two-over, 74, to claim second place followed by Chris  Beaubien in third with a three-over, 75.

This played a part in the Open Player of the Year as Chris Beaubien, Greg Diederich, and Matt Kelley all had a chance to take home the Player of the Year award coming into the SLAT Championship. Chris’s third place finish in the championship gave him enough points over Greg Diederich to claim Player of the Year!

A familiar face to the KCGA winner circle, Mark Addington claimed both the tour championship and Senior Player of the Year after shooting a three-over, 75. His tour victory was enough to give Addington the POY award by 14 points over Steve Groom.

In the Legends Gross division, Jim Seward would shoot an impressive 77 that featured two birdies on the Par-3, 10th and 12th holes to win the tour championship. Pete Robbins would edge out Bob Bezek for the Legends Player of the Year award by a narrow 6 points after out scoring Bezek in the stroke play championship.

In the Legends Net division, John Pawsat ran away with the Player of the Year after shooting a net score of even par 72 to claim the tour championship as well. Pawsat played consistently well all season and overtook Ron Brewer in second place by over 30 points in the Player of the Year race.

Alex Reed and Steve Hammond both shot a six-over, 78, to claim co-tour champions in the Players Gross division. Both players had three birdies on the day and Hammond’s tour co-championship would be enough to edge out both Michael Buckhouse and Chris Meyer in the Player of the Year race by 14 points. Hammond was our third double champion on the day, winning both the tour championship and Player of the Year (Pawsat, Addington).

In our final division at the SLAT Championship, Jacob Epperson claimed the Players Net tour championship with a net score of 71. Mike Naegele and Mittal Patel would both shoot a one-over, 73, to tie for second place. Patel’s second place finish would move him in to the top spot in the Players Net Player of the Year race. Overtaking Gary Gatten by 6 points, Patel’s hard work all season would pay off and earn him the Player of the Year award.

The KCGA would like to thank all of our Stateline Amateur players that came out to play over the season and we are so grateful to have such great talent that continues to show up each and every event. Without the players, we couldn’t do what we do. Also a big thank you to all of our amazing volunteers that donate their time and effort to support the Kansas City Golf Association and our events. As the 2018 comes to a close, we are thrilled about what next year has to bring.

For a full results of the field from our SLAT Championship, see here.

For final Player of the Year standings, see here.