
Session 10 Quiz (Rules 17-19) 

1. True or False: 

a. A player must take penalty relief for a ball in penalty area that is a no play zone. 

b. There is no free relief for an embedded ball in a penalty area.  

c. If a lake is not marked by the committee, it is treated as a yellow penalty area.  

d. A player may not stand in a penalty area to make a stroke after taking relief from that penalty area. 

 

2. In stroke play, Baile’s ball is in a penalty area.  She grounds her club at address, which moves a leaf that was 

covering her ball, but her ball does not move.  What is the ruling?  

a. No penalty, this is allowed. 

b. No penalty, but the leaf must be replaced. 

c. Baile gets 2 penalty strokes. 

d. Baile gets 4 penalty strokes. 

 

3. In stroke play, Taylor’s tee shot is at rest in a red penalty area.  She correctly determines her 2-club length relief 

area, a part of which is on the putting green.  She drops a ball that strikes in the relief area on the putting green 

and rolls onto the fringe in the measured relief area.  She plays the ball from there and holes the shot.  What is 

her score for the hole?  

a. 3 

b. 4 

c. 5 

d. 6 

 

4. In stroke play, Todd’s tee shot is at rest in a penalty area that is a no play zone.  He plays a stroke from the no 

play zone that stays in the no play zone.  He then plays another stroke that comes to rest on the putting green 

and holes that putt.  What is Todd’s score for the hole?  

a. 4  

b. 6 

c. 8 

d. Disqualification. 

 

5. In individual stroke play, Doug’s ball is at rest in a red penalty area and elects to take lateral relief.  He drops the 

ball in the right way, but it comes to rest outside the relief area.  He correctly lifts the ball to re drop it but 

notices a branch overhanging his line of play, so he changes his mind and drops correctly using the back-on-a-

line option.  Which of the following is correct? 

a. His ball is in play, with the one stroke penalty for the relief area. 

b. His ball is in play, with no penalty, Rule 14.5 (eraser rule) erases all penalties when correcting a drop. 

c. He must lift the ball and re-drop in his original relief area, with the one stroke penalty applied. 

d. He must lift the ball and re-drop in his original relief area, with the one stroke penalty removed. 

 

6. True or False: 

a. Stroke and distance relief may not be used, if that relief area is nearer the hole of where the ball lies. 

(For example, a tee shot hits a tree and goes behind the teeing area) 

b. If a ball cannot be found in a penalty area, stroke and distance relief must apply. 

c. A provisional must be announced to the opponent or fellow competitor. 

d. If a player takes unplayable ball relief and his drop rolls back into the same condition, he must re-

drop without penalty.   

e. In taking lateral relief for an unplayable ball in a bunker, if part of the relief area is in the general area, 

the player may drop out of the bunker for 2 strokes. 


